Pursuing it with eager feet

I’ve got an urge lately to try a new game, and in my case it doesn’t really mean “that cool new title” but rather “that time-proven classic that I’ve hopelessly missed”. So, I was choosing between LotRO and Dragon Age (yeah, I know), and ended up trying LotRO. Well now I am torn (totally unexpectedly, of course) between buying a subscription, buying a starter pack, and staying F2P for a while longer. I will eventually buy one of the two (I fully appreciate the try before you buy model, and it is exactly because of that I think that if you liked it, putting some money in is the right thing to do), just can’t decide which one. Samwise Gamgee starter pack (and the Premium status that comes with it) has essentially everything I need (riding, access to the auction house, more inventory slots, mailing money between alts, currency cap removal), except quests past level 20 (nevertheless there are so many quests in the starting zones it’ll take me weeks to finish them all, and you can go into the higher zones anyway, just no one will tell you which rats to kill). A sub means all the quests and some points that’ll help buy an expansion in some distant future, but it also brings a sense of commitment with it. I only have so much time to play, so picking up LotRO effectively means abandoning GW2.

P.S. While this post was hanging as a draft (actually a longer version of it, with more rambling about pros and cons of different options), I finally decided to get a subscription. Find me somewhere in the fields around Waymeet or the woods around Overhill (current goal: explore all of the Shire on foot. Home sweet home!).

 

Leave a Reply

